Former premier announces retirement from parliament

A former premier has announced his retirement from politics midway through the parliamentary term, saying it was time to make way for new ideas in his electorate.

Former South Australian premier Steven Marshall has announced he’s quitting politics.

He will resign as Member for Dunstan in the coming months, triggering a by-election in his east Adelaide seat.

It’s the state’s most marginal seat, with the Liberals barely retaining it by just half a per cent at the 2022 election.

Mr Marchall said in a statement that he will leave politics knowing he did his best for the “great state” of South Australia.

“After almost 14 years in parliament, now is the right time for me to step aside and allow someone else to step forward and serve the people of Dunstan,” he said.

“I will leave politics knowing I did my best and fought my hardest for this great state.”

Mr Marshall announced his retirement from politics on Wednesday, almost 14 years after he was elected as a MP for the Liberal Party.

However, he said he would reveal his official resignation date at a later stage because he wanted to give the party “the right time to preselect the very best candidate”.  

“It has been an absolute privilege and a pleasure to serve the people of South Australia,” Mr Marshall told reporters.

“I have many very happy memories of my time. Lots of highs, lots of lows.

Steven Marshall announced his retirement from parliament on Wednesday. Picture: Roy VanDerVegt

“I’ve made a decision that it’s now time for me to make way for new and fresh ideas serving the people of Dunstan in the South Australian parliament.

“It’s very important to me that we have continuing solid Liberal representation for the people of Dunstan. I thank the people of Dunstan for electing me on four occasions.”       

Mr Marshall first represented the seat of Norwood in Adelaide’s east from March 2010, before the electorate was renamed Dunstan ahead of the 2014 election.

He became opposition leader in February 2013, leading the Liberal Party to victory in 2018 after 16 years out of office.

Loading embed…

Steven Marshall served as premier between 2018 and 2022. Picture: NCA NewsWire / Brenton Edwards

Mr Marshall served one term as premier – a period which included the COVID pandemic – and was then defeated at the 2022 election by Labor’s Peter Malinauskas. 

A by-election will be held in the coming months once Mr Marshall submits his resignation to the speaker.

His retirements means all premiers who were in power at the beginning of the pandemic are no longer serving in parliament.

Mark McGowan (Western Australia), Daniel Andrews (Victoria), Gladys Berejiklian (New South Wales), Annastacia Palaszczuk (Queensland) and Peter Gutwein (Tasmania) have all since left office.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button