Glen 2-10 St Brigid’s 1-12: Glen win first All-Ireland Club title in thrilling Croke Park decider

Despite Glen’s surge late in the first half to restore parity, Brigid’s were not flustered and immediately regained control after the restart when Brian Derwin raised a green flag after being found by O’Carroll, who was marked by Ryan Dougan in the second half having given Warnock a serious headache in the first.

Derwin then landed a brilliant score with the outside of his right boot to put the Connacht side four ahead.

While Glass responded to bring Glen back to within three, Glen’s cause was hurt when Cathal Mulholland was black-carded in the 48th minute following a tangle with Bobby Nugent.

Ruaidhri Fallon and Eddie Nolan scores either side of an Emmett Bradley free for Glen ensured the Roscommon club held a four-point lead with six minutes left.

However, after a much-needed score from Michael Warnock brought Glen back to within striking distance, Glass collected a McGuckian pass out of the air, surged past his man and unleashed an unstoppable right-footed shot that flew past Brigid’s keeper Cormac Sheehy who had strayed off his line.

Glen were given slight breathing room thanks to scores from Bradley and McGuckian at the start of five additional minutes, and while Cunnane gave St Brigid’s hope, his last-ditch free going wide proved the final act of an engrossing final that had everyone on the edge of their seats until the final whistle.

There were remarkable scenes at full-time as the Glen players released all the emotions they have felt over the past 12 months as they basked in the realisation that they have completed their mission and become All-Ireland champions.

Glen: Connlan Bradley; Connor Carville, Ryan Dougan, Michael Warnock (0-1); Jody McDermott (1-0), Ciaran McFaul (0-1), Cathal Mulholland; Conor Glass (1-2, 1 ’45), Emmett Bradley (0-4, 3f); Eunan Mulholland, Conleth McGuckian (0-1), Ethan Doherty (0-1); Tiernan Flanagan, Danny Tallon, Alex Doherty.

Subs: Conor Convery for E Mulholland (27 mins), Stevie O’Hara for Carville (44 mins), Cahir McCabe for A Doherty (55 mins).

St Brigid’s: Cormac Sheehy; Robbie Dolan, Brian Stack (0-1), Pearse Frost; Ruaidhri Fallon (0-2), Alan Daly, Ronan Stack; Eddie Nolan (0-2), Shane Cunnane (0-1f); Bobby Nugent (0-1), Paul McGrath, Conor Hand; Ben O’Carroll (0-3, 2m, 1m), Brian Derwin (1-1), Ciaran Sugrue (0-1).

Subs: John Cunningham for Derwin (45 mins), Conor Gleeson for Nugent (56 mins).

Referee: Brendan Cawley (Kildare).

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button